The Schweinemarkthalle (pig market hall), where the Perfekt Futur startup center is located, dates back to 1927-28. It distinguishes itself from the other dominant, imposing buildings from the 19th century through its New Objectivity design.
The hall is located on the former stockyard, the eastern part of the double-winged slaughterhouse and livestock facility. This is where the animals from the production areas were delivered, examined, and handled before being slaughtered. Construction of the slaughterhouse and stockyard was started in 1885 under the direction of the city architect, Wilhelm Strieder, with numerous extensions being added over the decades.
The two ships on the flat roof of the hall that serve the lighting and ventilation provide a fascinating view. A sandstone relief above the northern entrance gate with a farmer, a cattle dealer, and four pigs is a reminder of the initial use of the building. Originally, the hall had a porch with loggias on the southern side.
After the privatization of the stockyard in 1971, numerous buildings were rented out to different companies from other industrial branches and supplemented with new structures whose design could not compete with that of the original buildings. Until 2006, the Schweinemarkthalle was used as a warehouse for automobile companies that were based there.
After many years with no investment into the building’s maintenance, the hall ended up in such a poor condition that, despites its classification as a cultural monument, it was released for demolition in 2000. Luckily, this did not happen. A non-landmarked extension from the 60s on the west side of the hall was demolished in 2007. This is when the initial ideas and plans to convert the Schweinemarkthalle into a startup center developed.
Click here to go to the restructuring of the Schweinemarkthalle.
Click here for more information and photos on the history of the slaughterhouse and stockyard